The International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY), which has its seat in the Hague, Netherlands, was established in 1993, pursuant to UN Security Council Resolution 827 of May 25, 1993, while the conflict in the region was still claiming lives.

The ICTY’s jurisdiction extends to grave breaches of the Geneva Conventions of 1949, war crimes, genocide, and crimes against humanity committed by individuals within the territory of the former Yugoslavia from 1991 onwards. Its Statute and Rules of Procedure and Evidence establish the substantive and procedural provisions governing the Tribunal’s work.

As of November 2017, the ICTY has indicted 161 individuals. To date, proceedings for those indicted have concluded, resulting in 90 convictions, 19 acquittals, and 13 referrals to a national court. Thirty-seven of those indicted have had their indictments withdrawn or are deceased. An additional two individuals are having their cases retried by the Mechanism for International Criminal Tribunals. See ICTY, Key Figures of the Cases.

Learn more about pending and completed cases or see the full list of judgments.

The ICTY formally closed in December 2017 after 24 years of operation.